top of page

My Travel Experience in Key West, FL


My husband and I went to Key West for our honeymoon in October 2022. In this post, I will be reviewing where we stayed, some of my favorite restaurants, adult beverages, desserts, and attractions! I hope you enjoy the read and consider some of these suggestions if you are planning on traveling to the island!


1107 Duval Street Cottage

We stayed at a small cottage on Duval Street which I found through Vacation Homes of Key West (VHKW). I was pleasantly surprised how nice and quiet this cottage was even though it is on the island's main street. I loved having a fenced in yard, private pool, and we even saw many iguanas right in the yard!

Top 3 Restaurants

The A & B Lobster House- I ordered a shrimp fettucine and the flavors of pasta were excellent. This is a fine dining restaurant. I loved the atmosphere, and it is located relatively close to a boardwalk right by the ocean.


DJ's Clam Shack- I ordered a lobster roll, and it was so delicious. This restaurant is just a small shack with a few seats on Duval Street, but do not pass it up!


LaTrattoria Italian Restaurant - I ordered spaghetti with Italian sausage and was impressed with my meal, very flavorful and a large portion.

Top Bar

Key West Legal Rum Distillery- I am not a big drinker. In fact, I do not drink at all unless it is a special occasion. Needless to say, this bar has excellent drinks. The two drinks I liked the best were the mojito and the pina colada. The taste of both drinks was amazing, and I loved the frozen pina colada, so refreshing in 90-degree weather. This bar is definitely worth a visit, they give you free color-changing cups as a souvenir! The staff is so friendly as well.

Top 2 Desserts

Better Than Sex Dessert Shop- This dessert shop is like nothing I have ever experienced before. It has such a romantic atmosphere, and the staff is very accommodating. I ordered the Peanut Butter Perversion, and my husband ordered the KINKY-er Key Lime Pie. The presentation of both desserts was awesome. I really enjoyed going here!

Mattheessen's Oversized Cookies- This dessert shop has many oversized items including cookies, brownies, and fudge. I ate a couple huge chocolate chip cookies! Very affordable shop that I loved.

Top 3 Attractions

Fury Snorkeling Trip- My husband and I booked a trip through Fury to take us to a live coral reef. The boat ride was about an hour. It ended up storming during our trip, so the ocean was a little wavier than I would have liked and hard to snorkel in. Despite the rain, I still had a great experience, and we were able to see quite a few brightly colored fish!

Butterfly Conservatory- The butterfly conservatory is a great place to go and experience many brightly colored tropical plants, butterflies, and birds! It has beautiful scenery and a fantastic gift shop. It took about 30 minutes to go through the entire thing, so it is relatively small. I ended up buying a sterling silver butterfly necklace and a preserved butterfly to hang on the wall.

Key West Aquarium- The aquarium has many tanks with tropical fish, turtles, snakes, and a boardwalk to the ocean to feed the fish. I am a lover of nature, so I really enjoyed visiting. The aquarium is pretty small and takes about 30 minutes to go through.

To conclude, I had a fun time during the week I stayed on the island. ALL of the food was amazing, and I did not eat one bad meal. I enjoyed the attractions, but in general there are few attractions on the island. I found myself getting bored by the end of the week. A lot of Key West is tourist shops. The night life was not appealing to me or my idea of a good time. I was not impressed with the beaches at all, and there was very little wildlife or seashells to be found. Overall, I would rate Key West a 7.5 out of 10. I do not plan on returning just for the simple fact of how expensive everything is there.

Screenshot_20221101-195923_Chrome.jpg

Hello, thanks for stopping by!
Are you ready to get inspired by all things healthy and tasty? If you love trying new ideas and filling your kitchen with delicious aromas, you came to the right place. Join me on a culinary journey today—exciting new recipes are just a click away.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by Turning Heads. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page