top of page

Katie’s Top 13 Habits for a Happy, Healthy Life

I decided to compile a list of the things that I do every week in my own life that have changed me for the better. These are not ranked in any particular order of importance. I have been incorporating this list with great results. Hope you enjoy the read and can reflect on your own routine and maybe adopt some of these habits!

Left: age 21, right age 26 and down 35 lbs. I only plan to get better with age, it's all a mindset and matter of taking care of yourself and sticking to a healthy routine‼️

1.Sleep 7-8 hours

➡️I always make an effort to prioritize sleep. For me, it is necessary to make sure I am getting enough rest as I work a physical job with long hours. I do not look at my phone or watch TV before bedtime. I will read a book and have a cup of tea as my nightly wind down routine.

2. Limit caffeine

➡️I used to drink a lot more coffee than I do now. I haven’t completely given it up, and probably never will, but I only have one cup a day in the morning. I don’t get an energy crash or rely on caffeine to keep me awake anymore. If you do drink a lot of coffee, I would consider cutting back and pay careful attention to those Starbucks drinks, they contain more sugar than anything else.

3. Eat 3 filling and nutritious meals a day

➡️ I went back to the basics with this one and only eat when I am actually hungry. I eat whole foods, buy organic, when possible, eat lots of fruits and vegetables, and always prioritize protein. For me, snacking is just eating when I am bored at home, so I try to limit it as much as I can. I do always have a healthy snack on the days I work when I am actually hungry from walking around and lifting / bending all day. It really is just a matter of listening to your body. I cannot stress enough to AVOID added sugars, alcohol, and processed foods. These are all inflammatory to the body. You work hard in your workouts, do not take a step backwards in your progress and not take healthy eating seriously. I did not see results I wanted until I started eating clean foods 90% of the time. I will have an unhealthy treat every now and again. It is not a daily occurrence.

4. Only drink water and hydrate with electrolytes

➡️I quit drinking sodas, store bought ready-made teas, and any drinks that are purely added sugars with no nutritional value, just empty calories (juice, energy drinks, etc.). I only drink water now. If I have an intense workout or will be working in the heat, I make sure to replenish my body with a low sugar electrolyte solution. It is important to keep in mind that when the body sweats, it is not just losing water, but it is also losing essential minerals. Most days I have 2 scoops of the powder linked below.



5. Take a Multivitamin

➡️I have regularly been taking a multivitamin for the past 3 years, and I think it has made a big difference in the way my body feels. I have more energy and have an improved immune system. I hardly ever get sick anymore, and if I do, it is not longer than a day or two. I always make an effort to get vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants from real foods, but that is not always possible at all times, such as travel or holidays with relatives, so I like to take a multivitamin to make sure my body has the essentials to keep me feeling well.

6. Don’t restrict any foods, but find a way to make a healthier alternative

➡️They say the first step in fixing a problem is admitting that you have one, and for me I know I have no self-control when it comes to those sugar laden store-bought desserts, so I just stopped buying them completely. If they are in the house, I WILL eat them. I love chocolate and sweets, so I have found a love for baking from scratch and making a healthier recipe for some of my favorite desserts. If I completely cut sweets out, I know this would not be sustainable and I would binge on them. For me, it is all about balance and finding a happy medium. I might have a homemade cookie or two, but I DO NOT buy the package of Oreos and eat the entire thing in a day.

7. Strength train

➡️I cannot say enough great things about strength training. It has given me confidence, improves my mood, and I am stronger, more muscular, and healthier than ever! I lift weights 3 times a week. I split my routine up into back/ biceps, chest/triceps/shoulders, and legs/glutes. You don't need anything fancy to start with. When I was first getting back into lifting weights after my car accident in 2019, I just had a few sets of dumbbells in my basement. The strength will come with time, the main thing is just getting the routine started!

8. Run

➡️I love running. It feels so good to get my heart rate up and sweat it out! I like to run because it helps me maintain a lean figure and improves my cardiovascular endurance. I always feel so refreshed after I am done. No pain, no gain. I do cardio 2-3x a week. I am not particularly fond of treadmill running, but in the winter, I don’t like running outside either. I try to run 2 miles on the treadmill 2x a week and get it over with as fast as I can. I do the Stairmaster 1x a week. When the weather is nice, I like to go to a local park, enjoy the scenery, and wildlife and get my cardio in. I am not a long-distance runner, the farthest I run while still enjoying it is 4 miles.

9. Yoga

➡️I started to do yoga to help with back stiffness and pain after my car accident, and it has just become a habit ever since. I do yoga 4x a week in the mornings before I work just to wake up, stretch my muscles, and have some quiet time to set a good intention for the day. I definitely recommend the Yoga with Adriene 30 Day programs which are available for free on YouTube. Yoga has helped me to ease my mind, build core strength, balance, and flexibility.

10. Stretch

➡️I do micro stretches (hold 5 different stretch positions for 15-20 seconds) at least 3 times throughout the day when I am working, but I also intentionally set aside time 1-2x a week to do a deep full body stretch. My favorite stretching routines are available for free from Sydney Cummings Houdyshell on YouTube. Stretching has led to less sore muscles, a decrease in muscle tightness, and an overall improvement in range of movement.

11. Keep a journal

➡️I have been keeping a journal for the past few months, so this is the newest of my habits on this list. The exact gratitude journal and weekly planner I have is linked below. Every week, I set two positive affirmations for myself, and write down three things I am grateful for. This has helped me to be more appreciative in life and happy with what I have. I have learned to love the little things in life. My weekly planner helps with goal setting, forming habits, self-accountability, and reflection.


12. Walk 10k Steps a Day

➡️At a minimum, I say do 10,000 steps a day. This is around 4 miles of walking. I usually do more than this on the days I work, but on my off-days I still hit that number. Walking is a great way to burn calories, and if you want to lose weight, you are going to have to be in a calorie deficit. The more I walk, the more motivated I am, and have more energy I have for the day. Make movement a priority in your day! I recommend getting a step tracker, so you know your progress throughout the day.

13. Do something you enjoy

➡️The last item on my list is to break free from the mundane, and boring everyday life and go do something fun! The activities I enjoy most are gardening, reading, cooking, making crafts, and traveling to the ocean. My husband and I want to plan a trip for just the two of us every year. To me, I would rather have less stuff, but more experiences. The world is a big place, and I will not be stuck in my home the rest of my life. Getting out and exploring is important to me! Find a hobby you truly enjoy doing.





Screenshot_20221101-195923_Chrome.jpg

Hello, thanks for stopping by!
Are you ready to get inspired by all things healthy and tasty? If you love trying new ideas and filling your kitchen with delicious aromas, you came to the right place. Join me on a culinary journey today—exciting new recipes are just a click away.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by Turning Heads. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page