top of page

Reducing Added Sugars in the Month of March 2023!

For the month of March, I'm deciding to further look into my added sugar intake and reduce it even more. For the most part, I thought my sugar intake was under control, but this proves there is still room for improvement. I have identified 5 foods I eat frequently that contain added sugar. While it might not seem like a large amount, it definitely adds up quickly when consumed multiple times a week or every day. Added sugar does not offer any nutritional benefit. It is just empty calories!!!



  1. 1 Tbsp almond milk coffee creamer 5g added sugars x 4 days a week = 20 g

  2. 2 slices organic seedy wheat bread 10g added sugars x 7 days a week = 70g

  3. 1 oz dried cranberries 10 g added sugars x 4 days a week = 40g

  4. 2 Tbsp organic ketchup 6g added sugars x 3 days a week = 18g

  5. 1 oz 70% cocoa dark chocolate 7 g added sugars x 7 days a week =49 g



20+70+40+18+49= 197 g added sugars weekly

1 g of sugar is 4 calories. This is 788 empty calories every week. I have room for improvement and below are easy swap outs that I am going to do!


Alternatives:

  1. 1 Tbsp unsweetened almond milk in coffee 0g added sugars weekly

  2. Homemade honey wheat bread 6.4 g sugar x 7 days a week = 44.8g

  3. 1 oz unsweetened raisins 0g added sugars weekly

  4. 2 Tbsp organic mild salsa 0g added sugars weekly

  5. 1 oz 85% cocoa dark chocolate 3g added sugars x 7 days a week = 21g


65.8 g vs 197g of added sugars .......that is 2x less added sugars with some simple swaps!



My reasoning behind doing this is because I am starting my 2nd round of the gut health series products from plexus. I had great results my first month and that was with eating that much added sugar. I want to benefit my gut as much as possible and eliminate all unnecessary sugar. I know sugar affects my body in a negative way and leads to inflammation. I am excited for this next month and can't wait to see what changes come about.


This blog post proves just how simple it can be to identify any high added sugar foods you currently eat and swap them out. My list used to be a lot longer than this, it definitely takes time, patience, and desire to want to change and be better! If you are struggling with cravings and eating sugary food all the time, start with a few simple swaps!




Screenshot_20221101-195923_Chrome.jpg

Hello, thanks for stopping by!
Are you ready to get inspired by all things healthy and tasty? If you love trying new ideas and filling your kitchen with delicious aromas, you came to the right place. Join me on a culinary journey today—exciting new recipes are just a click away.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by Turning Heads. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page